Mr. Saber Hossain Chowdhury, Bangladesh Member of Parliament, awarded by World Health Organization (WHO) on World No Tobacco Day

30 May, 2017 | Dhaka - World Health Organization (WHO) announced today the award winners of World No Tobacco Day 2017. Mr. Saber Hossain Chowdhury, Bangladesh Member of Parliament is one of the five awardees from South East Asia Region.

The award highlights the active and continuous contribution of Mr. Chowdhury in the area of tobacco control at local, national, regional and international levels.

Mr. Chowdhury has been selected for the World No Tobacco Day Award for “initiating inclusion of tobacco control in the country’s seventh five year plan in 2015, for sustainable resources for the programme. Strongly advocating for increasing tax on tobacco, Mr Chowdhury has been advocating for tobacco control for sustainable development” as per the citation of the award from WHO SEARO.

As a parliamentarian Mr. Chowdhury has been very active at the constituency level where he has pioneered community initiatives on tobacco control through youth and community based civil society organizations. As the president of Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU), he took the discussion on tobacco control to international level.

In line with the vision of H.E. the Prime Minister towards a Tobacco free Bangladesh by 2040, Mr. Saber Hossain Chowdhury advocated for the inclusion of tobacco control activities in the 7th five year plan of Bangladesh in 2015 and this paved the path for sustainable resources from government for tobacco control with multi sectoral involvement.

Upon hearing the news of the award, Mr Saber Hossain Chowdhury remarked “I see this more of recognition for the great work done by many people to promote tobacco control in Bangladesh and less of an individual award. We have a long way to go to realize our objective of a tobacco free Bangladesh but with focus, commitment and persistence we will get there.”

Every year, WHO recognizes individuals or organizations in each of the six WHO Regions for their accomplishments in the area of tobacco control. Full list of winners can be found here: