India Expert Advisory Group (IEAG)

The India Expert Advisory Group, comprising of national and international experts, was established in May 1999 with the following terms of reference:

  • Monitor progress toward polio eradication in India, assess the epidemiology of polio and identify challenges and risks to polio eradication and advise the Ministry of Health & Family Welfare (MoHFW), Government of India on strategies to overcome challenges and mitigate risks to ensure successful eradication of polio.
  • Assess and provide strategic technical advice to the MoHFW on the following activities for polio eradication:
  • Quality, sensitivity and timeliness of AFP surveillance and laboratory testing for poliovirus;
  • Scope, frequency and quality of supplementary polio immunization activities;
  • Effectiveness of programme communication and social mobilization;
  • Improvement of routine immunization coverage in polio high-risk areas; and
  • Planning, conduct and appropriateness of research studies needed and interpretation of findings.
  • Review polio surveillance and immunization coverage and monitoring data along with results of research studies and provide advice on programme interventions and prioritization of eradication activities.

The IEAG meets on a periodic basis, the frequency being determined by the status of polio eradication in India.

Members of India Expert Advisory Group

  • Secretary (H&FW), Ministry of Health & Family Welfare, Govt. of India
  • Dr. Jagdish Deshpande, Director, Enterovirus Research Centre, Indian Council of Medical Research, Mumbai
  • Director General of Health Services, Ministry of Health & Family Welfare, Govt. of India
  • Additional Secretary & Mission Director, Ministry of Health & Family Welfare, Government of India
  • Joint Secretary (RCH), Ministry of Health & Family Welfare, Government of India
  • Prof A.K Dutta, Pediatrician
  • Dr. R N Srivastava, Pediatrician
  • Dr. Harish Chellani, Pediatrician
  • Prof Jaya Prakash Muliyil, Public Health Expert
  • Prof. Sanjay Chaturvedi, Public Health Expert
  • Prof V K Srivastava, Public Health Expert
  • Prof Ashok Mishra, Public Health Expert
  • Dr. D.K. Taneja, Public Health Expert
  • Dr Shashi Khare, Virologist
  • President, Indian Academy of Pediatrics
  • Mr. Deepak Kapur, Rotary International
  • Mr. Carl Tinstman, Public Health Consultant
  • Mr. Chris Maher, Polio Expert, WHO-HQ, Geneva
  • Dr. Bruce Aylward, Assistant Director General, WHO-HQ, Geneva
  • Dr. Steve Cochi, Global Immunization Division, CDC Atlanta, USA
  • Deputy Commissioner (CH& I), Ministry of Health & Family Welfare, Govt. of India

Conclusions and Recommendations of recent India Expert Advisory Group meetings